How can we help you?

Cancel an in-app payment for a local item

It's possible for the seller to cancel a payment before an in-person sale is completed.

As a buyer

Payments

If the amount you paid was incorrect, the seller can cancel your payment. They can do this up until their payment is sent to the bank. If necessary, ask the seller to cancel. Then you can edit and re-send your payment.

Hold Offers

If you sent a Hold Offer, you can cancel it any time before the seller accepts it.

When you or the seller cancel a Hold Offer, the payment authorized on your card is canceled. The money re-appears in your account. You won’t see a “refund” line item in your account since it was authorized and not charged--but the money returns to your account quickly (usually within 1-2 days, depending on your bank).

  • Open your messages with the seller
  • Tap View offer
  • Tap Cancel hold request. This will release the money back to you.

As a seller

Payments

If a payment made to you was incorrect, you can cancel it and ask the buyer to send a corrected payment. You can do this up until your payment is sent to the bank.

  • Open the payment notification or receipt
  • Tap Cancel

The buyer can edit the amount and re-send it to you.

Hold Offers

You can cancel a Hold Offer before meeting with the buyer.

  • View the offer in the app
  • Tap Cancel Hold Offer. This will cancel the authorization on the buyer's credit card.
© copyright 2018 all rights reservedSelf-service by